About Us

Who We Are

"It is the mission of the Nebraska Investment Council to prudently manage the funds entrusted to us by the people of the State of Nebraska. We deliver investment management services to provide direct financial benefit exclusively to the owners of these funds. We are committed to thorough, sound, and informed analysis in order to achieve superior returns while maintaining prudent levels of risk."

The Nebraska Investment Council is an independent state agency consisting of:

  • An eight-member governing body including five private citizens appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the State Legislature, and three ex-officio members: the State Treasurer, the Director of the Public Employees' Retirement Systems, and the Director of the Omaha School Employees Retirement System.
  • A nine-member Investment Team.

Most importantly, the Investment Council is the seventeen of us working together for the citizens of Nebraska.

What We Do

The Nebraska Investment Council manages $40.8 billion across 32 investment programs:

  • $18.3 billion in 5 defined benefit pension plans
  • $4.2 billion in 7 other retirement plans
  • $1.7 billion in 11 public endowments
  • $9.9 billion in the Operating Investment Pool, the State's checkbook, managed internally
  • $72 million in 3 State trusts
  • $6.6 billion in 4 colllege savings plans
  • $38 million in the Nebraska Enable plan

The funds are spread among 60 investment firms and over 150 investments.


Council Members

BackRow (left to right): Keith Olson, Gail Werner-Robertson, Ellen Hung
Front Row (left to right): John Dinkel, Richard DeFusco, Tom Briese (State Treasurer), Thomas Henning
Not Pictured: John Murante (NPERS Director), Shane Rhian (OSERS Administrator)

Gail Werner-Robertson, Council Chairwoman
GWR Wealth Management, LLC
Omaha, NE
Term: 2024 - 2028

Thomas Henning, CFA
Non-Executive Chair
Assurity Group Inc.
Lincoln, NE
Term: 2023 - 2027

Dr. Richard A. DeFusco, Ph.D., CFA
Professor of Finance
University of Nebraska - Lincoln
Lincoln, NE
Term: 2022 - 2026

John M. Dinkel
Dinkel Implement Co.
Norfolk, NE
Term: 2020 - 2024

Dr. Keith A. Olson, Ph.D., CFA
Professor of Economics & Finance
Creighton University - Heider
Omaha, NE
Term: 2021 - 2025

Tom Briese
Nebraska State Treasurer
Lincoln, NE
Ex Officio (non-voting)

John Murante
NPERS Director
Lincoln, NE
Ex Officio (non-voting)

Shane Rhian
OSERS Administrator 
Omaha, NE
Ex Officio (non-voting)


Investment Team

Ellen Hung, CFA
State Investment Officer

JoLynn Winkler, CFA
 Senior Portfolio Manager

Joe Spitznagel
Portfolio Manager

Jeremiah Garber, CFA
Portfolio Manager


Chris Sanders
Portfolio Manager

Aathi Rasiah
Internal Auditor

Maryam Sultani
Investment Accountant