About Us

What We Do

The Nebraska Investment Council manages $36 billion across 32 investment programs:

  • $16.3 billion in 5 defined benefit pension plans
  • $3.8 billion in 7 other retirement plans
  • $1.5 billion in 11 public endowments
  • $8.5 billion in the Operating Investment Pool, the State's checkbook, managed internally
  • $69.1 million in 3 State trusts
  • $5.9 billion in 4 colllege savings plans
  • $29 million in the Nebraska Enable plan

The funds are spread among 60 investment firms and over 150 investments.


Council Members

Gail Werner-Robertson, Council Chairwoman
GWR Wealth Management, LLC
Omaha, NE
Term: 2019 - 2023

Thomas Henning, CFA
Non-Executive Chair
Assurity Group Inc.
Lincoln, NE
Term: 2023 - 2027

Dr. Richard A. DeFusco, Ph.D., CFA
Professor of Finance
University of Nebraska - Lincoln
Lincoln, NE
Term: 2022 - 2026

John M. Dinkel
Dinkel Implement Co.
Norfolk, NE
Term: 2020 - 2024

Dr. Keith A. Olson, Ph.D., CFA
Professor of Economics & Finance
Creighton University - Heider
Omaha, NE
Term: 2021 - 2025

John Murante
Nebraska State Treasurer
Lincoln, NE
Ex Officio (non-voting)

Randy Gerke
NPERS Director
Lincoln, NE
Ex Officio (non-voting)

Shane Rhian
OSERS Administrator 
Omaha, NE
Ex Officio (non-voting)


Investment Team

Michael Walden-Newman
State Investment Officer

JoLynn Winkler, CFA
 Senior Portfolio Manager

Joe Spitznagel
Portfolio Manager

Jeremiah Garber, CFA
Portfolio Manager

Justin Walkowiak
Administrative Manager

Joseph P. Jurich
Senior Portfolio Manager

Chris Sanders
Portfolio Manager

Joyce Schlautman
Internal Auditor

Aathi Rasiah
Investment Accountant